Log in



Commissioner Pavan Khoobchandani

Visit the website for the ANC SMD 4A08 Commissioner here

About ANC 4A

Advisory Neighborhood Commission (ANC) 4A meets on the first Tuesday of each month other than in July and August. ANC 4A is located in the Northwest section of Washington, DC, and includes the historic neighborhoods of Crestwood, Shepherd Park, Brightwood, Fort Stevens, North Portal Estates and Colonial Village. There are eight ANC Commissioners that comprise the ANC 4A. 

About SMD 4A08

ANC Single Member District (SMD) 4A08 covers all of Crestwood and is the equivalent of census tract 26. The ANC 4A08 Commissioner is Gale B. Black.  The boundries of ANC 4A08 in NW DC are as follows: 

Beginning at the intersection of Rock Creek and a line extending Joyce Road from the northeast; South on Rock Creek to a line extending Piney Branch Parkway from the northeast; East on said line extending Piney Branch Parkway to Piney Branch Parkway, and continuing northeast on Piney Branch Parkway to 16th Street; North on 16th Street to Morrow Drive; Northwest on Morrow Drive to Joyce Road; Southwest on Joyce Road, and continuing southwest along a line extending Joyce Road southwest to the point of beginning.

You can find prior ANC 4A meeting minutes here


An ANC is a non-partisan, neighborhood body made up of locally elected representatives called Advisory Neighborhood Commissioners. They are a unique feature of the District's Home Rule Charter.

The Commissioners, who serve two-year terms without pay, are elected at DC Elections in November in even-numbered years (e.g. 2014). The ANCs were established to bring government closer to the people, and to bring the people closer to government.

In addition to providing people with a greater say in the matters that affect their neighborhoods, ANCs were intended to end the duplication of effort caused by the proliferation of special advisory groups.

There are now 40 ANCs, up from 37 prior to the 2012 redistricting. Each ANC area is subdivided into a number of smaller areas. Since only one Commissioner is elected per district, they are called Single Member Districts (SMDs).  (The Wards on the D. C. Council are also “single member districts.”)  Each SMD consists of about 2,000 people. Although the SMDs should have equal populations, ANCs may vary widely in size.  The biggest ANCs have 12 SMDs. The smallest has just 2.  As a result of the population growth shown in the 2010 census, the number of SMDs has increased from 286 to 296.  

The ANCs' main job is to be their neighborhood's official voice in advising the District government (and Federal agencies) on things that affect their neighborhoods.  Although they are not required to follow the ANCs' advice, District agencies are required to give the ANCs' recommendations "great weight." Moreover, District law says that agencies cannot take any action that will significantly affect a neighborhood unless they give the affected ANCs 30 days advance notice. This includes zoning, streets, recreation, education, social services, sanitation, planning, safety, budget, and health services.

The ANCs may also initiate recommendations for improving city services, conduct neighborhood improvement programs, and monitor resident complaints.  The ANCs began operating in 1976.

This website and the Crestwood Citizens Association is supported by the dues of CCA members. Membership has its benefits including access to members-only resources and the knowledge that you are supporting a great neighborhood!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software